Archive | December 2013

Book Blogging Resolutions

image

1. I want to get more followers.
Counting my facebook page, my twitter page, and my blog (without repeat people) I have 46 followers. I think that’s an okay start for around 2 months of blogging but I would really like to have more.

2. I want to post more reviews.
I didn’t post very many reviews because I’ve been reading pretty slow lately, which annoys me, but I just haven’t been motivated to read really fast. If I don’t read a lot of books, then I can’t post a lot of reviews. I still have Teaser Tuesday, Waiting on Wednesday, and TBR Thursday but I feel like I need something more substantial.

3. I want to read more books.
This goes along with my other resolution. I’m going to use the goodreads reading challenge and keep track of all the books I read in the next year. I’ve never counted so I have no idea how many I read but I feel like it should be a lot more! 🙂 I’m not sure what my goal will be yet because, like I said, I’ve never counted so I have no idea where to start.

Happy New Year! I would love to hear everyone’s resolutions so feel free to comment down below! 🙂

Christmas Week Wrap-Up

wpid-1388268784546.jpg

I know it’s after Christmas but I just had to post this. We made a book tree and our cat, Noisy, loved it!

Since this week was so busy with Christmas, I decided to do one post with all of my normal weekly posting and I’ll also do a book haul.

Teaser Tuesday

Splintered

Splintered by A.G. Howard

Page 9

“The things I hear are usually nonsensical and random, and blend together in crackles and hums like radio static. Most of the time I can convince myself it’s nothing more than white noise.”

 
 
Waiting on Wednesday

The Here and Now
The Here and Now by Ann Brashares

Expected Publication: April 8th, 2014

Goodreads Summary: Follow the rules. Remember what happened. Never fall in love. Thrilling, exhilarating, haunting, and heartbreaking, The Here and Now is a twenty-first-century take on an impossible romance. Ann Brashares’ first novel for teens since The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants is about a girl from the future who might be able to save the world . . . if she lets go of the one thing she’s found to hold on to. Meet seventeen-year-old Prenna James, who immigrated to New York when she was twelve. Except Prenna didn’t come from a different country. She came from a different time—a future where a mosquito-borne illness has mutated into a pandemic, killing millions and leaving the world in ruins. Prenna and the others who escaped to the present day must follow a strict set of rules: never reveal where they’re from, never interfere with history, and never, ever be intimate with anyone outside their community. Prenna does as she’s told, believing she can help prevent the plague that will one day ravage the earth. But everything changes when she falls for Ethan Jarves.

TBR Thursday

The Sky is Everywhere
The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

Goodreads Summary: Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life – and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding. This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

Book Haul

I got the Mortal Instruments series from my parents as presents and then with money and a gift card, I got The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare, The Beautiful Creatures series by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, The Uglies trilogy by Scott Westerfeld (I say trilogy because I’ve heard people say it was originally supposed to be a trilogy and I could never get interested in the last book so I only got the first three), Delirium by Lauren Oliver, and Splintered by A.G. Howard.

Collage

I would love to hear what everyone got for Christmas so please comment down below! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! 🙂

TBR Thursday: Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner

image

These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner
♥ Add this book on Goodreads

Goodreads Summary: It’s a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone.  Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help. Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other’s arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever? Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won’t be the same people who landed on it.–A timeless love story, THESE BROKEN STARS sets into motion a sweeping science fiction series of companion novels. The Starbound Trilogy: Three worlds. Three love stories. One enemy.

Waiting on Wednesday: Unhinged

image

Unhinged by A.G. Howard
Expected Publication: January 7th 2014
Add on Goodreads

Goodreads Summary: Alyssa Gardner has been down the rabbit hole and faced the bandersnatch. She saved the life of Jeb, the guy she loves, and escaped the machinations of the disturbingly seductive Morpheus and the vindictive Queen Red. Now all she has to do is graduate high school and make it through prom so she can attend the prestigious art school in London she’s always dreamed of. That would be easier without her mother, freshly released from an asylum, acting overly protective and suspicious. And it would be much simpler if the mysterious Morpheus didn’t show up for school one day to tempt her with another dangerous quest in the dark, challenging Wonderland—where she (partly) belongs. As prom and graduation creep closer, Alyssa juggles Morpheus’s unsettling presence in her real world with trying to tell Jeb the truth about a past he’s forgotten. Glimpses of Wonderland start to bleed through her art and into her world in very disturbing ways, and Morpheus warns that Queen Red won’t be far behind. If Alyssa stays in the human realm, she could endanger Jeb, her parents, and everyone she loves. But if she steps through the rabbit hole again, she’ll face a deadly battle that could cost more than just her head.

Teaser Tuesday: The Girl of Fire and Thorns

The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson
Page 15 (on my ebook app)
“He releases me, and my sister glides forward. She wears a simple gown of blue silk layers that drop beautifully from slender shoulders, and her face is perfect and composed, like a sculpture. It nears mine-I smell her jasmine perfume-and I see tiny lines around her brown eyes. Worry lines. Strange that I have not noticed them before.”

Review for The Wall

image

The Wall by Lauren Nicolle Taylor
Rating: 5 bookmarks
Goodreads Link: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18643872-the-wall

Goodreads Summary: Joseph, wake up, wake up, wake up…
She says it over and over. It’s her mantra, her prayer, her plea. But life doesn’t stop while he’s sleeping. With a newborn baby in her arms, Rosa’s thrown into a new world, with new rules and a philosophy that sounds too good to be true. She’s sure they didn’t rescue her out of the goodness of their hearts. The Survivors must want something in return. The Wall finds Rosa eagerly entering a new life, yet struggling to keep the demons and ghosts of the past from dragging her backwards. She’s left so many people behind. There’s freedom in the Survivors’ world, more than she’d ever dreamed of, but there’s also secrets. The darkest of which pulls Rosa headfirst into a trauma, forcing her to reevaluate her past and pushing her to make a choice that threatens to destroy the tenuous, sewn-together family she’s built on the outside.

Wow! I didn’t think it was possible but I liked this one just as much as, if not more, than the first one! This is one of those books that you love so much and you want to explain it and review it and tell someone why you love it but then when you open your mouth, there are no words! I want to explain but I don’t know how. All I can say is a very good job to Lauren Taylor! Everyone else, read it!! 🙂 I love the writing, the characters, the storyline….just everything. There is nothing wrong with this book except for one thing which I told the author! I thought I had more pages left in the book but it was acknowledgements and things about other books! I didn’t want it to be over yet! I like it more than other dystopian books I’ve read and I wish more people knew about it.