Christmas Week Wrap-Up

wpid-1388268784546.jpg

I know it’s after Christmas but I just had to post this. We made a book tree and our cat, Noisy, loved it!

Since this week was so busy with Christmas, I decided to do one post with all of my normal weekly posting and I’ll also do a book haul.

Teaser Tuesday

Splintered

Splintered by A.G. Howard

Page 9

“The things I hear are usually nonsensical and random, and blend together in crackles and hums like radio static. Most of the time I can convince myself it’s nothing more than white noise.”

 
 
Waiting on Wednesday

The Here and Now
The Here and Now by Ann Brashares

Expected Publication: April 8th, 2014

Goodreads Summary: Follow the rules. Remember what happened. Never fall in love. Thrilling, exhilarating, haunting, and heartbreaking, The Here and Now is a twenty-first-century take on an impossible romance. Ann Brashares’ first novel for teens since The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants is about a girl from the future who might be able to save the world . . . if she lets go of the one thing she’s found to hold on to. Meet seventeen-year-old Prenna James, who immigrated to New York when she was twelve. Except Prenna didn’t come from a different country. She came from a different time—a future where a mosquito-borne illness has mutated into a pandemic, killing millions and leaving the world in ruins. Prenna and the others who escaped to the present day must follow a strict set of rules: never reveal where they’re from, never interfere with history, and never, ever be intimate with anyone outside their community. Prenna does as she’s told, believing she can help prevent the plague that will one day ravage the earth. But everything changes when she falls for Ethan Jarves.

TBR Thursday

The Sky is Everywhere
The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

Goodreads Summary: Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life – and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding. This remarkable debut is perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen, Deb Caletti, and Francesca Lia Block. Just as much a celebration of love as it is a portrait of loss, Lennie’s struggle to sort her own melody out of the noise around her is always honest, often hilarious, and ultimately unforgettable.

Book Haul

I got the Mortal Instruments series from my parents as presents and then with money and a gift card, I got The Infernal Devices by Cassandra Clare, The Beautiful Creatures series by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl, The Uglies trilogy by Scott Westerfeld (I say trilogy because I’ve heard people say it was originally supposed to be a trilogy and I could never get interested in the last book so I only got the first three), Delirium by Lauren Oliver, and Splintered by A.G. Howard.

Collage

I would love to hear what everyone got for Christmas so please comment down below! Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! 🙂

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Christmas Week Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s