Review for The Murmurings

The Murmurings

The Murmurings by Carly Anne West

Rating: 3 bookmarks (Enjoyable, a pleasant read.)

Goodreads Summary: Everyone thinks Sophie’s sister, Nell, went crazy. After all, she heard strange voices that drove her to commit suicide. But Sophie doesn’t believe that Nell would take her own life, and she’s convinced that Nell’s doctor knows more than he’s letting on. As Sophie starts to piece together Nell’s last days, every lead ends in a web of lies. And the deeper Sophie digs, the more danger she’s in—because now she’s hearing the same haunting whispers. Sophie’s starting to think she’s going crazy too. Or worse, that maybe she’s not….

I have a surprise! This review is from my sister, Hope! 🙂 Please give her book suggestions because I can’t seem to find anything that will scare her enough and scary books are the only books she will read. So, here’s her review!

Hi, Faith’s sister, Hope, here.

I am 100 percent addicted to scary books, not so much movies but horror books are definitely my favorite, that’s  the only way you can get me to read,haha. Faith talked me into reading  The Murmurings by Carly Anne West. It’s a story about a girl, Sophie David, whose sister committed suicide, and is found hanging upside down by her toe from a tree in the wickedest city in the west, but Sophie doesn’t think that her sister would even be capable of doing something like that. It all started when her sister, Nell, began to hear things and see things out of the corner of her eye. She went crazy and soon after she did, Sophie began to see and hear things too.

This next paragraph or so is my honest opinion, I’m very picky about books, and I’m always looking for a book to terrify me and give me a sleepless night or two:

When I first started reading The Murmurings, I thought it was going to be a scary possessed book and there were a couple parts in the book that were pretty creepy but I feel like some parts were more focused on teen crushes and drama. It really didn’t give me goosebumps or a sleepless night or two. I do have to say though, it was pretty interesting so if you’re looking for a creepy book with some teen crushes intertwined, then go check out this book, but if you’re looking for a bone chilling horror book, keep looking. I don’t recommend this book for anyone under the age of 14 as there was a ton of cussing that I was more than happy to white out. Also there were some parts in there that I didn’t think were very necessary, almost like they were stuck in as page-fillers. Overall, The Murmurings was a good book but just not what I was looking for.

If you have any horror books that you think would give me goosebumps, let me know and I will be more than happy to read and review it as the new horror book reviewer person thingy..haha.

Leave a Reply

