DNF Review: The Here and Now

The Here and Now

The Here and Now by Ann Brashares

Expected Publication: April 8th, 2014

*Thank you Netgalley for providing me with a digital ARC for review.*

Goodreads Summary: An unforgettable epic romantic thriller about a girl from the future who might be able to save the world . . . if she lets go of the one thing she’s found to hold on to.
Follow the rules. Remember what happened. Never fall in love. This is the story of seventeen-year-old Prenna James, who immigrated to New York when she was twelve. Except Prenna didn’t come from a different country. She came from a different time—a future where a mosquito-borne illness has mutated into a pandemic, killing millions and leaving the world in ruins. Prenna and the others who escaped to the present day must follow a strict set of rules: never reveal where they’re from, never interfere with history, and never, ever be intimate with anyone outside their community. Prenna does as she’s told, believing she can help prevent the plague that will one day ravage the earth. But everything changes when Prenna falls for Ethan Jarves.
From Ann Brashares, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants series, The Here and Now is thrilling, exhilarating, haunting, and heartbreaking—and a must-read novel of the year.

I was actually excited to read this book, but it just fell flat for me. I didn’t find the characters interesting and I just couldn’t get into the story. It just seemed like a really boring plot to me. It was really easy for me to put this book down in the middle of a chapter and not care what was happening. I usually always have to finish a book, even if I’m hating it, just to figure out what happens. I couldn’t make myself finish this one. I would literally argue with myself over whether I should finish it or not. At first, I thought why not…it’s short and it won’t take me long. Then I would just stare at the unread books on my bookshelf and think about how much time I was wasting. Maybe it was just me and maybe someone else will enjoy it but I couldn’t finish it nor do I care to know the ending.

8 thoughts on “DNF Review: The Here and Now

  1. It took me a few chapters to really get into the story, almost 50% of the book. But it actually ended up being a four star for me. It ended up being unpredictable and somewhat awesomely disturbing in a lot of ways.

  2. Pingback: The Here and Now by Ann Brashares | booking rehab

Leave a Reply

