Review for Stubborn by Jeanne Arnold

Stubborn

Stubborn by Jeanne Arnold

Rating: 4 bookmarks (Compelling, a page turner.)

Add this book on Goodreads

*Thank you to the author for providing me with a review copy in exchange for an honest review.*

Goodreads Summary: With a train ticket, a bad attitude, and an unfortunate scribbling of obscenities across her forehead, seventeen-year-old Avery Ross is tossed out of the frying pan and into the fire when she’s sent from New York to the vast oil field region of North Dakota. When a green-eyed boy with a sultry Texan accent comes to her defense, Avery has no clue that his actions will lead her into a passion-charged summer, full of temptation and loss. Defiant and relegated to work at her aunt’s boarding house, Avery discovers a connection between her aunt and the striking boy. He and his brothers are seeking revenge for the wrongful death of their sibling, and Avery becomes entangled in their battle over oil rights, loyalty, and love. Avery falls for the brooding, younger brother, Gabriel Halden, against her aunt’s forewarnings and creates more tribulations than any of them could anticipate. 

I really liked this book! It’s been a long time since I’ve read a book that didn’t have a fantasy aspect to it and it was a nice change. I know this isn’t the most important thing in a story but I loved the character’s names…I thought they fit the story really well. I loved how I never knew where the author was going to take the story next. It wasn’t a predictable contemporary romance at all, which I loved. I also liked how there was a plot outside of the romance part of the story, so it wasn’t just focused on the romance. With the characteristics of Gabe and especially Avery, I think Stubborn is the perfect title for this book and I’m looking forward to the next one.

Leave a Reply

